Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Submission Deadline: Disability History Association Outstanding Book Award

May 1, 2023

As part of the Disability History Association’s 2023 Award Series, the DHA Award Committee invites entries for its twelfth annual Outstanding Book Award. The amount of the award is $300. The winning book, as well as the book receiving the honourable mention, will be announced in September 2023.
Eligibility: Committee members welcome monographs and edited collections, provided the book is new, original scholarship and published in English. The award is open to authors writing across all geographic areas and time periods whose book was first published between January 1 and December 31, 2022. Members of the DHA Board of Directors are not eligible to apply.
Submission Procedure: In order to be considered, please send the following to the Book Award Co-Chairs, Dr. Stefanie Hunt-Kennedy (shuntkennedy@gmail.com) and Dr. Kristen Nassif (knassif@udel.edu) by May 1, 2023:
  1. a brief cover letter that includes a full bibliographic citation for the book; and
  2. an electronic copy of the book in text-based .pdf or .doc file format compatible with screen reading software for the review committee.
The members of the Award Committee understand that copyright rules apply and will use the electronic copy for the sole purpose of selecting a winner. Books that are not provided in accessible electronic formats for screen reading software in a timely manner will not be considered for the prize.
Applicants will also be required to send six print copies of the book to the members of the Book Award Committee. After you submit your cover letter and electronic copy of the book, the Book Award Co-Chairs will be in contact with you to arrange for the distribution of the hard copies. If you are concerned that you will not be able to provide hard copies of the book, please let the Book Award Co-Chairs know.
Please direct any questions to the Book Award Co-Chairs (Stefanie Hunt-Kennedy, shuntkennedy@gmail.com and Kristen Nassif, knassif@udel.edu).